Tags

, , ,

 

2015_10_20 IMG_2037

We have had some blustery, windy days this past weekend. Wind gusts up to 40 knots and sustained winds around 15 to 20 knots. It makes getting on and off a boat a bit trying.

I am not complaining, I am just talking out-loud, which is hard to do when I’m trying to pull the boat close enough to the dock to step on, and the wind is blowing my hair in my eyes and mouth, and distracting me from focusing to take the “step” onto the dock.

If I miss, which I have before, I will find myself quite wet and in the water, with whatever I might have in my hands, cough, cough…camera. Yes, it was ruined.

If you have never tossed around in a boat on a windy day, I don’t recommend it. You have to hold on for your own balance, everything needs to be secured and in its place, or there will be messes and even injuries. It’s not fun.

Paul speaks about being secured so that we are no longer tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of teaching. This security comes from, being equipped for works of service, attaining a unity of faith, and speaking the truth in love. Ephesians 4:12-15

Yesterday, as I was trying to pull the boat in close to the dock, against the heavy wind, so I could get aboard. A young man, who was working on the boat next to ours, asked if he could help me. My first response, was that I could do it, I didn’t want to be a bother. I might have been able to do it myself, but it was much easier and certainly more secure, when he pulled the boat in and I was able to step up with my bag of groceries, knowing he had a hold of the line against the wind and the waves.

We are all part of the body, some Christ has made to be the leaders and the teachers to equip the others…those who need to be equipped. So they are not falling in the water with their cameras.

Are you Weary by Wednesday because you are trying to do it all on your own? Who could help equip you?

