Tags

, , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just had a good chuckle. The nine-year-old on the boat behind us is walking down the dock. One of her little siblings (there are two, under age 5) gets off the boat behind her. Turning only her head, and with the tone of authority only a nine-year-old can have with a younger sibling, commands the small one, “Get back on the boat.”  She keeps walking and doesn’t look back any more, her word said was her word done, as far as she was concerned.

Side note, I noticed mom appear from inside the boat, no small children were lost in this scene.

It made me think about the authority in which Jesus spoke truth. His word said should be His word done in my life. Is this the case? Shamefully, no.

But, on a Weary by Wednesday week, I would have more stamina if I were following His commands:

Forgiveness: I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times. Matthew18:22

Judging: For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Matthew 7:2

Worry: Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

Are there any commands you are not obeying this week?

I would love to talk with you or pray for you. Drop me a note anytime.

