Tags

, , ,

2015_11_12 jennifer baringer

 

My husband and I love to collect sea glass when we are at the beach. We have quite a collection from living in South Florida and from the many beaches we have been blessed to visit over the years. We almost treat the search like a get out of jail card; you can’t get off the beach until you find a piece or three.

One evening, my husband said that he was starting to realize how much of the beach experience he was missing by only looking down, just beyond his feet, trying to find sea glass.

I had similar thoughts earlier that morning, as I was suffering from a serious case of myopia.

I started making a conscious effort to look up and pay more attention when I walked the beach after that conversation. I noticed how the waves swelled out of nothing; I watched the pelicans in formation, flying as though there was an invisible roller coaster track beneath them, all seeming to go up or down at the same spot, daring to see how close they could get their wing tips to the water without getting wet. There were fish jumping, and gulls diving. Crabs scurried, and so much more.

I was missing out.

Myopia was causing me to miss so much.

The more I considered it, the more I realized myopia was taking over lots of areas of my life, especially in my relationships and spiritual walk.

If my husband did things that annoyed or bothered me, myopia had me so focused on them that I was beginning to lose sight of all the things I really loved about him.

Myopia caused me to expect God to speak the way I thought He should. The focus of myopic Bible reading and Bible study was to get the answer I was looking for, not the answer He had for me.

I still look for a piece of sea glass here and there, but I am consciously being less myopic about it. I am taking that challenge into the other areas of my life too; rather than focus on the annoyances, I’m consciously looking at the big picture of the love I have for my husband. And my prayers and Bible study are a fresh adventure when I don’t enter in with myopic vision, but allow the Holy Spirit to teach me.

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said. John 14:26

If you have this kind of myopia or are recovering, drop me a note, I would love to hear from you and pray with you. Have a blessed week.

