Tags

, , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA jennifer baringer

I have this problem. I call it Doer-ness. I like to do. Like Martha, I feel like there is all this stuff to do, and as soon as I get it all done, everything will be right in my world. I think that people around me like doer-ness too, because stuff gets done, people like stuff done.

Except, there are times like today, where I’m far away and my doer-ness is useless, and I am uncomfortable in my own skin.  I can’t visit, I can’t cook, and I can’t offer to doer anything physical that might be able to help those that need me.

And in my uncomfortable skin, I hear God chuckling at me. I hear Him say, “Mmm, pretty important there, aren’t you? I’m not really sure how I have managed so long without you.” (I’m sure there is a scripture to back this conversation up!)

Jesus tells Martha, when she is complaining about her sister Mary’s choices, “But only a few things are necessary, really only one.” (Luke 10:42)

Doer-ness didn’t make the list. Really? He’s not going to make Mary help her?

Sometimes doer-ness is not the “really only one” thing that needs to be done.

And I am really Weary by Wednesday when I forget.

The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

James 5:16b

How can I pray for you today?

