Tags

, ,

2015 jennifer baringer

I used to tell my children that if they had nothing nice to say, it was better to say nothing at all. I believe this. I think that for the most part, our days don’t have to be filled with words that hurt others, we should be encouragers of each other and our words are our tools.

Sometimes I pick the wrong tools, I say too many words or all the wrong ones and it would have been better to say nothing at all.

Proverbs 15:23 says, “A person finds joy in giving an apt reply, and how good is a timely word!”

Heading into the holidays opens up many opportunities to say the right or wrong thing to those I love, those I have just met, or those who I don’t get along with very well. My challenge is to have a timely word, one that makes someone’s day better and brings joy.

Which means I will probably need to think before I speak, and if I have nothing nice to say…

