Tags

, , , ,

IMG_0005 boat lights jbaringer

It’s little things that can bring me joy.

Oliver talked to me today.

I met Oliver on Thanksgiving Day, but this is the first time he said more than a perfunctory hello to me. Oliver is four, so I have tried not to let this bother me too much. Nevertheless, he brought joy to my day, by telling me a joke and showing me his Buzz Lightyear toy, unsolicited.

It was just what I needed, because this week has been rough. I had a melt-down at Home Depot the other morning when I walked through the Christmas section. Even though our boat is all lit up with colored lights, I’m just not feeling it. I want to bake cookies with grand-children, put out my nativity scenes and all those other busy things I usually do during the weeks leading up to Christmas.

This year will be different, and I can’t let that be a bad thing.

How can I keep from growing Weary by Wednesday in the absence of my usual holiday routine?

When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy. Matthew 2:10

Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout aloud, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your king is coming to you; righteous and having salvation is he, humble and mounted on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey. Zechariah 9:9

And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Luke 2:10

It might help if I focus on the true joy of Christmas and remember how He shuffled the routine.

I pray that wherever you are or whatever is going on, you will find the joy only Jesus brings.

