Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_4909 jenniferbaringer

I was over-run with responsibilities, and it was awesome! I described my life this way, in a journal entry, just days before Christmas a couple of years after I was free from abuse.

I had completed my AA degree and was in the first semester of my BA degree. I was taking 17 credit hours and commuting 90 miles round trip on class days. My cleaning business jobs were squeezed to fit around my school schedule. And, as a single parent, I was juggling school activities and life for two elementary aged kids. I was completely over-run with responsibilities, and it was awesome!

Please don’t confuse this with, “I had it all together.” I did not. My journal entry also indicated I was always one hour away from failing a class, we were out of clean underwear and food and I was sleep deprived. But, the out of control issues were still awesome to me. Why? Because they were my responsibility, too.

I wasn’t perfect, but I was moving forward. I still had times where I doubted myself, but the successes were adding up, I was not the failure my abuser had dictated I would be.

Please here that: I was not the failure my abuser had dictated I would be. It took a long time to get there, with counselling, the love and support of family and friends, prayer, forgiveness, studying my Bible and changing my thinking, one day at a time.

I love this journal entry because it is the evidence that getting free was one of my greatest decisions.

I know it will be for you too.

This Christmas, I want to offer you the gift of hope. What you do today will be compounded by what you do tomorrow, and the day after that, until one day your journal entry reads, “I’m over-run with responsibilities, and it is awesome!” You really can do this.

I hope you know that I would love to pray for you and encourage you anyway I can, drop me a note anytime.

 

