Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_0481 rope swing, jenniferbaringerClearly this was a rope to tie my dog to, while I went into the laundry room for just a few minutes. Not so, I was informed by the two young boys playing nearby, this was their “rope swing.”

I almost burst out laughing, because the rope is less than four feet, barely off the ground, and these boys were at least that tall. The limb was certainly not up to my rope swing holding standards either. I pictured them bouncing their bottoms along the ground, as they tried to pull their feet up high enough to swing slightly, just before the limb gave way.

I needed to be on my way and was finished with my need for their “rope swing,” but, I couldn’t help thinking about purpose. What they thought the rope was for and what I thought it was for, where quite different purposes.

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, but as I look forward to the coming year, I like to take stock. I certainly want to be less Weary by Wednesday in 2016, so, aligning my purpose with my Maker’s purpose for me is something I’m thinking about.

But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand. Isaiah 64:8

It can be a lot of work trying to make a dog tie work as a rope swing or vise a versa, and I sure can find myself Weary by Wednesday, when I do similar things in my own life. My purpose will be easier to fulfill when I check with the designer, for only He really knows what He had in mind, when I was made by His hand.

Thanks for stopping by, I pray that the New Year will be filled with joy and a closer walk with Jesus for you, every day. If I can pray for you, please drop me a line.

 

