Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_1408 (2)

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 5:17

The old has gone, the new is here! A fresh start. This is how I feel on December 31st. I get to put the old behind and wake up tomorrow with the new.

I’m not much on resolutions, they feel like opportunities for failure, but closure is good. I can forgive myself of any shame from mistakes or bad choices I made during the previous year and look forward to doing better in the next. Knowing that it is O.K. to make mistakes and move forward is somewhat of a hurdle for me.

This was especially true in my healing years, after being in an abusive relationship for 16 years. I had been trained to feel guilty for everything, because abusers make you believe everything that is wrong, is your fault. And you were never relieved of the guilt, it was always compounded, with the newest error being added to all the previous ones.

Of course life with Jesus has made all the difference in the world, without His forgiveness and love, I would never have recovered and healed from the abuse years.

I tend to carry things around with me for way too long, so December 31st is a great opportunity to self-check what’s in my bags and discard the items that are dead weight and are not healthy. I encourage you to do the same.

I also would be amiss, if I let the year go out without asking you to keep your hearts sensitive to those around you. There are too many still living in abusive situations, you can make a difference. Please share this if you can, others need to know too.

My prayers are for a safe and wonderful 2016 for you and your family, and that you will find the forgiveness and healing you need.

