Tags

, , , , , ,

 

2016_01_19 IMG_2295 storm

It has been windy here for the past week. The boat yawls back and forth and rocks a bit when the wind is blowing at 20 knots. Last night for some reason, I woke up to its howl too many times to count. The frustrating part, even more so than not getting any sleep, was every time I woke up, I could hear my husband sleeping soundly through it all.

It’s not like we are out on open water, the harbor we are in is quite protected. Other than worrying our mooring ball might let lose, and we would float away, I didn’t think we were in any trouble.

The disciples didn’t have it so easy the night Jesus fell asleep on the cushion in the back of the boat. When a nasty squall came up, they all thought they would drown. The boat was being swamped with water and Jesus was sleeping.

Through it!

I’m not even getting wet and I can’t sleep.

You may know how it goes, Jesus rebukes the wind and the waves and immediately it gets completely calm. Then He asks the disciples why they are afraid and still have no faith.

I can feel their pain.

They don’t have an answer.

Neither do I.

They haven’t fully trusted Him yet, they still have weak faith. And this is why I still find myself Weary by Wednesday, my faith is still weaker than it should be. But their faith grew and so has mine. I’m not as strong as I would like to be, but I am stronger than I used to be. Faith is like that, it takes practice.

A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” Mark 4:37-40

If I can pray with you or you would like to share your struggle with someone, let me know, I would love to help.

 

