Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_2633 Baby hand jenniferbaringer

I sit here snuggling my eight month old granddaughter, who has finally fallen asleep. While she was fighting off closing her eyes, she threw herself backwards. Arching her back, she almost bumped her head on the arm of the rocker. I adjusted my arms around her and she re-snuggled herself to me and relaxed.

The close call reminded me that while I hold her, it’s my job to protect her, even if only from the arm of a rocking chair.

It also made me think of Psalm 32:7

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7

I try not to take verses out of context and this verse is no exception. Yes, verse 7 says God will protect me from trouble and be my hiding place, but not while I am hiding things from Him.

Take a look back to verses 1 through 3.

Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. Psalm 32:1-3

While David tried to hide his sin from God, he was wasting away (verse 3.)

Me too.

You too.

Until…

Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Therefore let all the faithful pray to you while you may be found; surely the rising of the mighty waters will not reach them. Psalm 32:5-6

Confessing our sin and not hiding our wrongs from God, brings us peace and protection. This is how to avoid being Weary by Wednesday.

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7

Thank you for stopping by, I am continually praying for you.

