Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_4728 Power plant generators

I find electric power generation interesting. A lot of stuff happens to make the switch on the wall perform every time you push it up. I know a fair amount about the process, but I just learned about what a black start is.

There is a power plant transmission station next to the marina we are staying at and on the first of the month I hear them start up a couple of diesel generators for a few hours. I assumed this is a maintenance test to make sure they are able to start up when needed, but I asked my hubby a few questions and I learned about a black start.

Power plants usually make their own power to run the equipment that is needed to make electricity. If that source isn’t available, the next option is to get power from the grid (from another power plant via all those wires you see out there.) But when there is no other power source, on site generators do the job of getting things started, this is called a black start.

The power to get things started.

I immediately thought of Genesis 1.

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was moving over the surface of the waters. Then God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light. Genesis 1:1-3

There was nothing but darkness, and then the original generator cranked out some light. And it was good! Black start to light.

The power to get things started.

God.

He has the power.

All the power.

All the time.

When I am running low, and really Weary by Wednesday, I only need to go to the originator of the black start, where the power begins.

If you don’t know the originator, I would love to share with you. Thanks for stopping by.

