Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_5885 jenniferbaringer

My brother-in-law and his girlfriend were in a motorcycle accident near our home a while back. They both had pretty bad leg injuries and lost a lot of blood at the scene. In order for me to drive nearly anyplace in town, I have to pass through this intersection and the stain on the road.

I look at the stain and replay how awful the accident was, where the car hit them, where the bike came to a stop, and where they ended up on the road. I think about what the EMT’s and law enforcement officers were doing, and I am thankful they were on the scene quickly, saving their lives. But, I don’t think anyone else driving through the intersection has the same thoughts. If they even notice the stain, I doubt they know it was from blood, it’s just a dark patch on the road and could have been from many things.

I wonder if the same was true when they crucified Jesus.

I mean, if you knew what happened, you would see the stain differently than if you didn’t know?

The Gospel of John describes the scene when Jesus and the criminals were crucified. Dark was coming, and the Jews wanted to get the bodies down, so they weren’t up there on the Sabbath.

Then the Jews, because it was the day of preparation, so that the bodies would not remain on the cross on the Sabbath (for that Sabbath was a high day), asked Pilate that their legs might be broken, and that they might be taken away. John 19:31

But, Jesus was already dead. So instead of breaking His legs, the soldier pierced His side, causing blood and water to poured out.

But one of the soldiers pierced His side with a spear, and immediately blood and water came out. John 19:34

No doubt making a stain on the ground.

This Sunday is Easter, and even though I know the outcome, Jesus rises and death has lost its power, I can be so Weary by Wednesday when I forget what the stain on the ground means.

This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. Matthew 26:28

The stain of blood. Forgiveness of our sin. Relief from weariness.

If you do not know about the stain, I would love to share with you.

Have a blessed and glorious Easter!

