Tags

, , , ,

image

Have you ever had someone ride your bumper, then speed around you, only to have them stop right beside you at the next red light? I hate when this happens to me. I try really hard not to look over at the other driver, because I’m sure they are gloating at me.

The other day I saw this bumper sticker and I didn’t particularly care for the truthful answer to the question it asked me.

image

Do I follow Jesus as close as I did the last car I tailgated?

No.

I get in a hurry, and I want Him to go faster. When He doesn’t, I check the lane next to me, swerve out and speed ahead. Only to find myself right beside Him at the next red light.

Btw, He’s always driving a vehicle much cooler than mine, think Fast and Furious, with no need to prove anything.

I know I shouldn’t tailgate, and I would surely be less Weary by Wednesday, if I would just follow behind Jesus and stay put.

I waste a lot of energy and time racing ahead and waiting for the light to turn green.

Peter had running ahead issues too.

But he replied, “Lord, I am ready to go with you to prison and to death.”

Jesus answered, “I tell you, Peter, before the rooster crows today, you will deny three times that you know me.” Luke 22:33-34

And guess who Peter saw at the red light?

The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word the Lord had spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows today, you will disown me three times.” Luke 22:61

Fortunately for all of us, Peter eventually got it, and his lessons learned are available to help each of us.

Do you run ahead or have you learned to tailgate close to Jesus?

