Tags

,

image

Oh boy, is this rooster playing hide and seek with me?

He kept peeking around the fence adjacent to the out door table where we were eating Cuban food, in Key West. As soon as I would look at him, he pulled his head back, as if I wouldn’t be able to see him.

The funny thing is, every time he did he would cock-a-doodle-do.

Of course I wouldn’t notice him, right?

I mean if you can’t see me or what I’ve done, you won’t know. Forget there are other tell tale signs to the contrary.

Playing hide and seek with my sin is second nature to me. And when I hide sin, I’m absolutely Weary by Wednesday, because hiding sin from God is impossible.

But I still try.

So did David.

When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Psalm 32:3-4

Hiding just doesn’t work. It depletes all my energy.

What works is confessing my sin.

Then I acknowledged my sin to you
and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Psalm 32:5

The results of confessing my sin is a protected and a safe place, where I am delivered from the heaviness of guilt. And my Weariness.

You are my hiding place;
you will protect me from trouble
and surround me with songs of deliverance.
Psalms 32:7

Are you experiencing the right hiding place?

