Tags

,

jenniferbaringer 2016

I was just reading about Naaman in 2 Kings, Chapter five. I love the story, because I’m a lot like him, especially when it comes to expecting things to be done the way I think they should be. I guess I usually stop at the part where Naaman finally gets his head on straight, obeys Elisha, and gets healed.

But this is not the end of Chapter five. There is still a lesson for me, right from Elisha’s servant Gehazi (2 Kings 5:19-27.)

Elisha refuses to accept any compensation from Naaman, for the healing and sends him on his way, with a blessing. Gehazi, however, decides Elisha was too easy and deserves more from this foreigner.

So he goes after Naaman to get for them what he thinks they deserve.

Gehazi is on a slippery slope.

How many times do I find myself Weary by Wednesday, because I get on this same slippery slope of thinking I deserve more than I have? Or I should be rewarded for some good I have done?

The slope is slippery because where do you draw the line in getting to the end result? Gehazi, deceives Naaman, gets money and cloths. He hides the loot, and then lies to Elisha, the man of God, whom he knows hears directly from God! Did he really think no one would know?

That’s the problem of thinking you deserve more than you have. You throw good sense to the wind and start acting stupid.

It costs Gehazi dearly, he gets what he deserves, but it surely doesn’t look anything like what he wanted.

“Naaman’s leprosy will cling to you and to your descendants forever.” Then Gehazi went from Elisha’s presence and he was leprous, as white as snow. 2 Kings 5:27

As I pray for myself to be stronger in my faith and content with what I have, I’m praying for you too, if this is in any way your struggle.

 

 

 

 

