Tags

, , ,

image

We visited a Church on the little Cay of Man-O-War in the Bahamas, this past Sunday. And the first hymn we sang was, “Standing on the Promises.” I hadn’t heard it for many years, maybe because it has not been updated to a modern praise and worship song, so we don’t sing this one too often.

I was overcome with tears and sadness, because I wasn’t standing anywhere near His promises on Sunday morning. In fact, I had been angry about some issues in my life and I was darn sure right to feel that way. Or so I had convinced myself anyway.

Until I sang the song.

I hope one day to run out of Weary by Wednesday posts, because that will be the day I get it all together spiritually. But, for now, the struggle is real.

And the second stanza cut me through.

Standing on the promises that cannot fail,
When the howling storm of fear and doubt assail.
By the living word of God I shall prevail,
Standing on the promises of God.

Copping an attitude, as I had last week, about how unfair a particular problem was for me, kept me from even wanting to read my Bible. And instead of standing on His promises, I was on a slippery slope. The one that leads directly to being Weary by Wednesday, and crying tears of remorse on Sunday.

I am sorry, Father, please forgive me for trying to stand on my misguided ways, instead of on your promises. The ones readily found in your word, the Bible.

