Tags

, ,

 

IMG_0385 (3)

It was a perplexing question for me.

“Do you have to be baptized in a church or can you baptize me?” My friend asked.

She wanted to be baptized because she hadn’t done so since she became a believer. She had only been christened in a church as a baby. Since her family doesn’t have a church home, they also live on a sailboat, she wanted to have it done by a Christian friend in a beautiful place. Now.

I have only experienced baptism in a church, or nearby the church, with a pastor in charge, always.

My husband and I dug through our Bibles, googled a few things and messaged a pastor friend.

Go for it. Do it, was the conclusion. And I stretched myself against my normal.

This was for my friend, this was not for me. I was just the able arms of God, encouraging another believer to be bold and profess her faith, in front of her husband, children, and friends.

But it was for me. I have never felt more humbled. I have seldom felt such joy. This was Christian excitement and why I am not feeling the least bit Weary by Wednesday this week.

Why don’t we do this more often?

Yes, I have felt the excitement of leading my children and others to the Lord. Then, watching as they are baptized and discipling them as they grow in faith. But, every once in a while, maybe we should stretch and be ready to do the baptizing too.

As they traveled along the road, they came to some water and the eunuch said, “Look, here is water. What can stand in the way of my being baptized?” And he gave orders to stop the chariot. Then both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water and Philip baptized him. Acts 8:36-38

Philip was ready, are we?

I am praying for you this week.

