Tags

, ,

image

Whose Are You?

I am often reminded of this question. Especially when I don’t think I am getting a fair shake.

When I was coming out of my abusive marriage and just starting out life as a single parent, it was daily on my list of questions.

And believe me, there were days…

Days where people wanted me to be what they wanted me to be.

Days where I wanted to run away and be someone else.

Days when I had to be the grown-up.

Days where I didn’t know who I was.

Days where I didn’t know where I was going.

Days I didn’t know how any of this life, I seemed trapped in, was going to end up.

On those days.

I prayed.

On those days.

I memorized these verses.

Isaiah 43:1-3

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;

On “those days,” you may need a verse too. I am praying you find yours.

