Tags

, ,

FullSizeRender (2)

Last night the power went off at our house. There was a thunder storm with flashes of lightning. Followed by a tremendous boom, then blackness. It happened all of a sudden. No warning.

But that’s not usually how the light from my eyes goes out. Sometimes my sin is drastic and sudden, but more often, it’s slow and sneaky.

I get busy. My Bible gets lost under a pile of papers. I find myself Weary by Wednesday and sighing out longings to the Lord about how weak I feel. About how my strength is failing.

All my longings lie open before you, Lord; my sighing is not hidden from you. My heart pounds, my strength fails me; even the light has gone from my eyes. Psalms 38:9-10

When the light goes out, I find restoration in His word, in the Psalms. Praying them to the Lord. Because fortunately, just like David, no matter how weary I get, He hears.

Lord, do not forsake me; do not be far from me, my God. Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Savior. Psalms 38:21-22

And even faster than the night crew of the electric company, He responds and He restores.

I am praying for you this week.

