Tags

,

image

Unless you live under a rock, and haven’t heard any news lately, there is more than a bit of hoop-de-doo about judges these days.

Supreme Court Justices in particular.

This is not a political blog, so I’m going to set politics aside. But, whomever becomes President, will pick at least one, and most likely several, in the coming years.

These women and men will hold the highest judicial seats in the United States. They will hold those positions for as long as they wish or as long as they live. They will have to swear under oath to, “faithfully and impartially discharge and perform all the duties incumbent upon” them.

And they will fail.

They will try diligently, but they will fail, because they are only human. They cannot totally set aside their ways and biases and be completely impartial.

But there is a judge, who will never be swayed. He always judges righteously and with equity. Every time. Across the board. Always.

Hopefully none of us will ever actually stand before a Supreme Court Justice, but every one of us will stand before God. Then what shall we do?

The mere thought is overwhelming.

The good news is, I don’t have to be overwhelmed. I don’t have to be Weary by Wednesday. I won’t need a fast talking, suited up lawyer to sway the verdict my way. I won’t need any friend of the court briefs, or precedent to help my cause. None. Because, even though I am completely guilty. Even though I have sinned and He judges rightly. I have been forgiven. Jesus has already paid my penalty, taken my judgement. I can rejoice and sing this Psalm without fear.

Let them sing before the Lord, for he comes to judge the earth. He will judge the world in righteousness and the peoples with equity. Psalms 98:9

If you can’t sing this Psalm without concern of what will happen when you stand before this judge, I would very much like to share what Jesus has done for each of us. Message me.

I am praying for you.

