Tags

, , , ,

image

Do you have memories engrained in you? We all do, things we remember exactly where and what we were doing when it happened.

Of course there are world tragedies, like terrorist attacks, but I’m talking about personal things, like the night my childhood friend’s Dad passed away from suicide.

Memories aren’t always so tragic or sad. The memory of my little brother picking toasted coconut off of our grandmother’s cream pie and telling her he was picking off fish bones, still makes me laugh.

Another of these memories, for me, was memorizing Ephesians 4:28

Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.

We were new in our neighborhood and Mrs. Lorraine had vacation bible school in her garage, for a whole week. I was eight. I picked that scripture out of a basket. It was completely random. Or not.

Fast forward to when I was 15. I stole some make-up from the local drug store and got caught. Arrested actually. I had to go to the police station in a squad car and before a judge…and then there was the punishment handed down by my Dad. He looked into our weed infested back yard, and told me that would be my beach for the rest of the summer.

Some kids learn many verses as they grow up, I wasn’t so fortunate. This was probably the only memorized verse I had, until I started attending church in my twenties. But, God used that verse to show me He was real, He was in control and He was directing my paths.

It wasn’t like I rolled the verse around in my head everyday for ten years and deliberately defied it by shoplifting. Yet, of all the verses I could have drawn from the basket, God had me pick one which completely called me out and made me know He knew me, even before I knew Him.

He knows us. Me. You. He loves us and waits for us, even while we are busy defying Him and working against His plan for us.

God’s love for me is revealed time and time through the scriptures. They keep me in check, and much less Weary by Wednesday, when I read and memorize them.

Memorizing scriptures during trials and difficult times gives me strength to press on, and comforts me during future trials, because I can look back a remember how well I was loved and protected. Memorizing scriptures during good times is even better.

Memories are made in a moment, and today is an opportunity to make a memory in your mind. What would you like to look back on. Find your verse…and get ready.

If you are not sure you know God personally, I would love to share how you can. I’m praying for you.

