Tags

, ,

image

I’ve seen a lot of silos this week, as we crossed through the Midwest. They always make me think about Luke 12. Jesus’ parable concerning storing up for yourself.

I’m not very familiar with harvesting and storing grain, I go shopping and buy when I need some. So I did a little Googling. I found out there are several reasons for all the silos I’ve seen. Among them are, drying grain to the right moisture levels, and holding out for a better price.

No where on the internet did it mention hoarding. In fact, keeping grain too long devalues it.

The same is true in my life, with the things I try to hold onto, basically hoard. I am always Weary by Wednesday when I don’t pass on the blessing on to others.

And, like the guy in Jesus’ parable, I am not guaranteed tomorrow, so today will be more fun if I spend it sharing.

How about you?

And  told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. He said to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’
“Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’
“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’
“This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.” Luke 12:16-21

I am praying for you. Tha

