Tags

,

image.jpeg

Many years ago, I heard about a concept called margin. Written in a book by that name, author Richard A. Swenson, M.D., describes how dangerous overloading our lives can be. The stress and fatigue that comes from trying to cram too much in, with nothing to spare.

Imagine reading a book where the print runs to the edge of the paper, no space, no boundaries. It is fatiguing to the eyes. We need margins in our books and we need margins in our life, to prevent fatigue.

I rounded the isle in the grocery store, which was being remodeled, and found all this space. I took a deep breath and had to stop and just stare for a moment. I immediately thought of Margins.

Big business cannot afford to give up floor space to an open area like this. They are charged by the square foot. I’m sure within a short period of time, this space was reclaimed with racks and shelves.

But, it was calming not to be within arms length of both sides of an isle. It can be so overwhelming being bombarded with products, from toe to three feet above my head, on both sides, because there is no margin.

Yet, this is exactly what I do in my life.

Regularly!

I cram as much stuff in as I can. It’s exactly the reason, I am Weary by Wednesday. I leave no margin.

I needed to stand and look into the vast open space in the grocery store for a few minutes. Remind myself to stop. To step back. To consider. What do I need to change to give myself some margin?

The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you—they are full of the Spirit and life. John 6:63

How about you? Could your life use some extra margin?

Thanks for stopping by, I’m praying for you.

