Tags

, ,

img_1997

I keep a travel blog. It’s all bout this adventure life my husband and I have been blessed with. I keep it to encourage others to stretch themselves and go for their dreams. It’s my living scrapbook of memories.

But, in the midst of all these adventures, I have to continually confront my issue with, ‘where is my home,’ and ‘homesickness.’

I’m not a natural adventurer. For one, I get motion sickness (for real) regardless of what mode of transportation I find myself in.

Once I arrive, and any sickness passes, I get caught up in experiencing a new place and become a quasi-adventurer. But, I wake up some mornings longing for home.

I used to think I was homesick for an earthly place. (I have lived within a 25 mile radius since I started second grade.) But I’m not convinced I’m homesick for for that place.

Not for a house, boat, or camper, or any other physical place I could go here on earth.

I am longing for my heavenly home.

The place where all the answers will be known. Where pain and sorrow will be no more. Where I will rejoice with family and friends who have gone before me. Where I will be waiting for those I have prayed to come. Where I will be with Jesus and Father God for eternity.

The place where I will never again be Weary by Wednesday or homesick.

This earthly place is full of adventure, as well as sorrow and pain. But when our faith and hope is in God, and our redemption is sealed in Jesus, we have the promise of a heavenly home, the place where homesickness is no more.

All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth. People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them. Hebrews 11:13-16

If you are not 100% sure you will spend eternity in heaven, I would be humbled to share how with you. As always, I am praying for you. Thanks for sharing Wednesday with me.

