Tags

, , , ,

img_5045

This weekend we celebrate Christmas, the birth of our Lord and Savior.

All around are nativity scenes, with a precious baby, all calm and sweet.

But a verse popped off the pages of my Bible this week, and I can’t get the thought from my mind.

Jesus came and left earth, with no place to lay His head.

Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” Matthew 8:20

I’m no expert, but a stable and a feeding trough can’t be too comfy, no matter how much straw you add. Certainly, our fine porcelain creations of Jesus’ nativity, gloss over the conditions.

It was so for Jesus, the grown man, too.

He had no place to lay His head.

I have two thoughts, first, this was never His home. Second, He sacrificed it all, to come here to be with us.

These two thought are entwined in my mind and cannot be separated.

He left his pillow at home, in Heaven, to come here and fulfill God’s plan. He sacrificed everything for us.

Now, I don’t mean to diminish the joy of Christmas in any way. Without his birth, we wouldn’t have his death or resurrection. We would not have salvation through grace.

If you don’t know, or have forgotten in the holiday bustle, Jesus came with a purpose…to bring the love of God to us who need it…so we don’t have to be Weary by next Wednesday.

Merry Christmas and many blessings for a safe and joyous New Year! Thanks for sharing your Wednesdays with me.

