Tags

, , , , ,

img_5298

I vote 2016 “The Year of the Lie.”

My head is still spinning from election rhetoric, leaks, hackers, false news, fear-mongering and misleading information problems.

Lies and partial truth…counterfeits.

So what is a girl to believe?

I don’t want to stick my head in the sand like an ostrich, but I have a life to live, and just how much time should I spend fact checking all this information flowing across my social media? Should I trust social media sites to identify truth for me?

I do not have the exact answer to these questions. It’s enough to make me Weary by Wednesday.

Paul had some advice for Timothy, long before the social media issues of our day were even thought of, and it more than applies.

Keep reminding God’s people of these things. Warn them before God against quarreling about words; it is of no value, and only ruins those who listen. 2 Timothy 2:14

And

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15

I don’t know about you, but it’s hard for me to handle the truth if I don’t know it. Hence, my plan for 2017 is to go back to a few basics.

I decided a few days ago that I needed to reread the whole Bible again. I need to refresh the feed and renew the algorithm of truth in my life.

I dusted off my One Year Bible and am excited to work my way through, starting January 1st. It’s a big undertaking, I’ve done it before, but it is worth it. I need truth more than ever in my daily life.

My pastor friend, Larry, gave me this Bible many years ago, but there are many plans, guides, and apps, out there.

You can do it on your phone. You could just read the Psalms, Proverbs, and New Testsment, if the whole Bible seems overwhelming right now.

The point being getting in the truth everyday.

I’ve never been big on New Year’s resolutions, because they usually fall to the wayside by February 1st.

So this isn’t a resolution, this is medicine for my soul. A spa treatment for my heart. A check point against counterfeit truth invading my life.

You have a few days to set a plan in motion for 2017! Would you join me in some way?

Check out Bible Gateway’s many e-options here.

Here’s a list of options on Biblestudytools.com.

There may even be a guide in the back of your Bible.

Thank you so much for sharing your Wednesdays with me in 2016. I pray God’s blessings for each of you in 2017. And, I hope you will feel free to keep me accountable to my reading plan for truth in 2017!

