Tags

, ,

We all have hard days, for many reasons. This week had one of those really hard days. Our pup has been sick, and we came to the day we were dreading.
She was a fighter, but the sickness finally overcame her, and we had to put her down. Of course our hearts are broken, she was our baby, and it didn’t help she was rather young (just shy of five years old) for us to be crossing that bridge.
Her young age sent me looking for this verse today.

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Psalms 90:12

She didn’t have enough days in my opinion.
I wonder if I will feel the same way when I get to the end of my days, too. Were there enough days? Did I use the ones I had to the full? Did I get wiser as each day passed?
I don’t mean to put more emphasis on a pup than should be, but she lived every day to the full. Everyday she was given. And, as I work through letting her go, I ask myself how I’m doing with what I have been given?
I don’t want to be Weary by Wednesday, or weary by the end of my life. I want to live each day to the full and gain wisdom. So to that end, I study scripture, pray, praise, share, and live each day to the full, as best I can, according to the model, who showed us how to live each day of a short life to the full.
Thank you Jesus, for your example of how to live life to the full, one day at a time.
How about you? I’m reading through the Bible this year, please join me and see new and exciting things you never noticed before!
Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me.

