oreo-3

Have you ever had too much? Oh come-on, tell the truth! Surely, I’m not the only person guilty of eating a whole package of Oreo’s or a whole pint of ice-cream…in one sitting!

Too much, is too much, especially when it involves too much sugar. How about giving too much? Have you ever been asked to stop? Too much has been given, and there is just no more need.

Yeah, me either!

I was reading in Exodus this morning about the Israelites. Those stiff-necked people that Moses begged God to give another chance. More than once.

Moses loved those people, even though they would mess up time and time again, and here in Exodus 36:3-7, I get a glimpse why.

They (the craftsmen) received from Moses all the offerings the Israelites had brought to carry out the work of constructing the sanctuary. And the people continued to bring freewill offerings morning after morning. So all the skilled workers who were doing all the work on the sanctuary left what they were doing and said to Moses, “The people are bringing more than enough for doing the work the Lord commanded to be done.”

Then Moses gave an order and they sent this word throughout the camp: “No man or woman is to make anything else as an offering for the sanctuary.” And so the people were restrained from bringing more, because what they already had was more than enough to do all the work. Exodus 36:3-7

Yes, they were stiff-necked sinners, but when confronted, they repented. They were forgiven and entered into God’s covenant.

And they were givers. Overwhelming givers.

They were loved by God and they returned His love by giving.

There were mandatory offerings, giving out of obedience. Obeying God’s commands was their part of the covenant. But, the over-giving in Exodus 36:3-7 isn’t about those kinds of offerings. Take a look at Exodus 35:21.

And everyone who was willing and whose heart moved them came and brought an offering to the Lord for the work on the tent of meeting, for all its service, and for the sacred garments. Exodus 35:21

Willing. Literally “lifted-up.” Everyone whose heart was lifted-up, gave so much, they had to be asked to stop. They were giving out of love. When my giving is lacking in “willing,” I find myself Weary by Wednesday.

So I have to ask myself, why am I feeling less than willing? Why am I stiff-necked? Am I harboring unforgiven sin? Am I unaware of the forgiveness that I have through Jesus? What do I need to do to get myself to the right place, where I am not stiff-necked and unwilling?

Father, I ask for willingness, lifted-up-ness, so over flowing that I would have to be asked to stop, long before it would even occur to me to do so. Please forgive me of my sins and out-right rebellion against you and bring me to this place of willing giving.

Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me. I’m praying for you too.

 

