Tags

, , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took this picture of some mangroves roots recently, on a nature trail.

It’s not perfect, but I was enjoying the early morning sunlight, trickling through the branches, and then, I noticed the piece of trash.

Doesn’t it just mess up a great shot?

Yes, I have a photo editing program, and I could make the trash blend into the scene.

But, even editing will leave some smudges. 

It made me think about how I sometimes throw trash talk around, just as carelessly, and, it’s not so easily taken back or edited out.

The little snippet of gossip, a put-down, or even a harsh reply, can leave a mess.

My trash talk not only makes me Weary by Wednesday, it surely makes those around me weary too.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. James 3:9-10

Just as I need to be careful with my trash out in nature, I need to be careful with my words.

Father, help me be careful and wise with my words, so I don’t hurt others, and I honor you.

Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me.

