Tags

, ,

How do you feel when someone else gets more?

My Mom refutes actually doing this, but she once dumped a bowl of popcorn in the middle of the table, and started counting it out for my sister, brother, and I. I’m sure we were…once again…complaining about who got more, and she was over it. I wish the absurdity, of her counting popcorn, would have fixed my more problem.

Sometimes my more problem isn’t even about someone getting more than I get. I can be jealous for what I think others should get, or even who I think God ought to be using.

Our inclination isn’t usually to hope someone else gets more.

Moses wasn’t like that.

When Joshua voiced his concern about two men back at the camp, who were given the gift of prophesy, Moses’ heart shines through.

But Moses replied, “Are you jealous for my sake? I wish that all the Lord’s people were prophets and that the Lord would put his Spirit on them!” Numbers 11:29

Moses didn’t have a more problem, especially when it came to spiritual issues.

He didn’t have to be more.

He didn’t have to have more.

Moses sincerely believed everyone should be more.

In fact, he understood how God’s kingdom expands, when more is spread to everyone.

Matthew Henry says it like this, “We must not secretly grieve at the gifts, graces and usefulness of others.”

Want to be less Weary by Wednesday? Love it when others get more, especially when it comes to spiritual “gifts, graces and usefulness.”

I hope your week is going well, thanks so much for spending some of your Wednesday with me.

