Tags

,


One of my favorite things about being a Christian, is being able to put away jealousy and envy.

Quite honestly, in our world, that is really hard to do.

Turn on the T.V., open your web browser or log into Facebook, and temptation is all in your face.

She’s prettier…has more money…has better behaved children…who excel at it all…she is perfection in motion. You know the drill.

But as a Christian, I can let that go. 

In fact, I can and should be excited for those who have what I don’t have, or haven’t yet experienced.

The pic above, is from a devotional book I’m reading this year. And, every time I get to one of those dog-eared pages, my heart leaps with joy.

My friend wrote those pages!

Her writing included in this anthology of daily devotions, and I feel like I know someone famous!

It hasn’t happened for me yet, maybe it never will, but the thing is, I do not have to be jealous or envious of other’s gifts and talents, or for how God is using them.

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. Romans 12:3-6

I have my own gifts, and functions within the body of Christ. And, when I get all caught up in jealousy over how other’s gifts are being used, I am not only Weary by Wednesday, I am down right useless to the body, because I’m not doing my part.

My feet are useless, if my hands can’t get the food to my mouth, and my jaw can’t chew it, so my stomach can digest it, and give me energy to walk. Each part of the body is and has a function.

My friend, the published one, is absolutely the most humble, grateful person I know. She would abhor the whole notion that she has done anything to cause another to be jealous of her. I am blessed to have her example in my life, and to be part of a body with her gifts included.

If for a moment, I get stuck on what she has accomplished, I’m missing the mark. I’d also, miss the excitement of seeing the body, work God’s glorious plan.

How about you? Do you find yourself immobilized by jealousy or envy? Let go of it, and humbly focus on using those gifts and functions the Lord has given you.

Thank you for sharing your Wednesday with me!

