Tags

, ,


I’m not sure anything is stronger than what we think.

What we imagine in our minds to be true.

It’s hard sometimes to keep our thinking right.

The truth is, unfortunately, our thinking can just be stinking. A friend used to say, “Stinkin thinkin.”

My thoughts can steer me in the wrong direction, and make me Weary by Wednesday.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not preaching positive thinking, I’m talking about right thinking, and getting my perspective from the right place.

Elijah, had an issue with some “stinkin thinkin,” when he ran off, in fear of Queen Jezebel. (1 Kings 19) 

He mistakenly believed he was all alone. He was the only prophet left, and they were going to kill him too. It wasn’t true, but, until he got quiet with the Lord, he didn’t know it.

The Angel said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.” Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave. Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” 1 Kings 19:11-13

Here’s the thing, I keep my “stinkin thinkin” alive and well, when I try to hear the Lord in all the noise around me.

When I look for God in the biggest fire, noise, or show, I’m going to miss Him. And when I miss Him, I keep my “stinkin thinkin” alive and well.

Elijah didn’t reel in his thinking, until he finally got quiet with God. When he heard God’s gentle whisper adjust his reality, to reality. (Take a few and read 1 Kings 19, when you can.) 

When I’m allowing “stinkin thinkin” to distort reality, it’s definitely time to get quiet and alone, with my Bible to listen for His gentle whisper.

How about you, is the noise out of control? Time to get quiet.

Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me. I am praying for you!

