Tags

, , ,


I continue reading through my one year Bible in 2017. To be honest some days are an exercise in monotony. I know, that sounds blasphemous, but those days are more an example of where I am at spiritually, rather than God’s words. 

Although, seriously, Numbers Chapter 26 is pretty boring, unless you’re into censuses and such.

I digress. 

I am currently in 2nd Kings, and there is much ado about High Places. Every chapter talks about what the particular king did about high places. (High places being idols and places of worship to other gods.)

There is a definite pattern. And honestly, I started out thinking it was a monotonous one. But repetition, in this case, started to get my attention.

At first it seemed good Kings got rid of high places, and bad kings built or maintained them. But a third, more relative to me, scenario arose. Good kings, who did not completely remove the high places.  

These kings started out with the right heart for the things of God, but without exception, when they didn’t completely clean house, consequences ensued.

The high places, however, were not removed; the people continued to offer sacrifices and burn incense there. 2 Kings 14:4

I saw myself Weary by Wednesday.

I start out with the right heart towards sin in my life, but I ignore, or worse, accept, not doing whatever it takes to completely remove “high places” of sin.

When I become complacent to sin, I create opportunities, for sin to entangle and bring me down. 

Anger, un-forgiveness, a hard heart, are a few getting my attention right now. I am also opening my ears and heart, for His light to shine on other high places in my life.

How about you? Are you keeping a few “high places” alive and well in your heart?

Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me.

