Tags

, , , ,


Weary by Wednesday: Wisdom in Esther’s Mirror

I’m still going strong with reading through the Bible in one year. This week I landed in one of my favorite books, Esther.

I adore Esther. I don’t understand why Disney didn’t choose her for one of their princesses. Or maybe I do. But I digress.

The book of Esther, is filled with life lessons to keep me from being Weary by Wednesday. If you haven’t read Esther in a while, it’s worth your trouble.

Although her circumstances appear to be raging out of control, Esther made wise decisions, because she sought wise counsel in her life.

She listened to the council of her Uncle Mordecai, throughout her life. 

She took the advice of Hegai, the king’s eunuch, during her “preparation” time and before it was her turn to go to the king.

She pleased him (Hegai the king’s eunuch) and won his favor. Immediately he provided her with her beauty treatments and special food. He assigned to her seven female attendants selected from the king’s palace and moved her and her attendants into the best place in the harem. Esther 2:9

When the turn came for Esther (the young woman Mordecai had adopted, the daughter of his uncle Abihail ) to go to the king, she asked for nothing other than what Hegai, the king’s eunuch who was in charge of the harem, suggested. And Esther won the favor of everyone who saw her. Esther 2:15

In turn, the king chose her, from the contenders.

Now the king was attracted to Esther more than to any of the other women, and she won his favor and approval more than any of the other virgins. So he set a royal crown on her head and made her queen instead of Vashti. Esther 2:17

I’m sure she was beautiful, it was a prerequisite of getting into this predicament, so were all the girls. But, her beauty had to be more than skin deep, in my opinion, for the king to chose her.

Let’s not forget how wisdom reflects in the mirror.

She won the favor of everyone she met.

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Proverbs 31:30

Esther above all sought God. And not just when trouble struck, which Esther finds herself neck deep in. Look closely here.

“Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” Esther 4:16

Esther knew she could not proceed without the council of God.

Did you notice her attendants are fasting with her? I think she won her attendants hearts to serve God, too. Again, a subtle indication that Esther was the real deal, all the time.

I am tempted when confronted with life’s struggles, as do many, to go with my gut, to take control and to trust in myself. 

Esther is my heroine, and reminder to do  life well, means choosing wisdom, and that from God and wise counsellors.

Thanks for sharing your Wednesday with me. I count many of you among my wise counsellors. Thanks for being there for me.

