Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_2196 jenniferbaringer

I arrived at the library where the note on the door read, “Internet not working today, our apologies.”

Everyone else was moaning to the librarian at the front desk, but I am ecstatic. I am unplugged, except for my cell phone, which I promised to keep on incase my husband needed me. Only, I was so excited about being unplugged, that I forgot to make sure it was on vibrate and I missed his call and texts.

He isn’t happy right now, he thinks my phone is broke.

I am having a hard time disconnecting from technology and instant access.

It was good enough a few years ago, to leave a message on someone’s answering machine and wait until they returned home to call you back. You didn’t expect any different.

Before that, it was normal, to just call back if no one answered. We did not have an answering machine in the house I grew up in.

And if oldie T.V. shows I watch are accurate, prior to that, you could ask the operator where someone in your small town was, if they didn’t answer the phone. Apparently, gossip in a small town might have actually been more accurate than street cams.

I presume prior to telephones, it was just good to walk next door and knock on your friend’s door if you needed to talk or wait until you met up at the fence hanging your laundry out, or mail a letter and wait on the post man.

My lack of disconnecting is wreaking havoc in my life. It’s not uncommon for me to lose several hours searching Google on some tangent that keeps me from my writing goals or run out of time to do my morning devotions because I was distracted reading up on Facebook posts.

And then I read this. I took a screen shot, so I didn’t have to go back on Facebook to remember it. A quote from Lysa TerKeurst, “Before you go to bed tonight, ask God to wake you in the morning so you can read the Bible first thing. Decide right now that before checking Facebook, email, and text messages…you’ll check in with God’s life-giving truths.”

I could plan ahead and ask for help in getting my morning off to the right start and if I do this every morning, I might not find myself so Weary by Wednesday.

 My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him. Psalm 62:5

How about you? Is there some technology you need to disconnect from?

