Tags

, ,

imageThe art work on this trike caught my attention last week, at the 75th annual Daytona Bike Week. I thought about what it said all day.

image“Dead men tell no lies.”

You’ve no doubt heard this phrase, made popular in the Pirate’s of the Caribbean.

But it seems that the Pharisees thought this statement to be true for a little problem they were having after Jesus called Lazarus up from the dead, back in John chapter 11. By the middle of chapter 12, they were not only planning on killing Jesus, they were going after Lazarus as well.

Meanwhile a large crowd of Jews found out that Jesus was there and came, not only because of him but also to see Lazarus, whom he had raised from the dead. So the chief priests made plans to kill Lazarus as well, for on account of him many of the Jews were going over to Jesus and believing in him. John 12:9-11

After Lazarus was raised from the dead, he was responsible for “many” believing in Jesus. Dead men may tell no lies, but those raised from the dead spread the truth.

They can’t help it!

So would you.

I mean, suppose you were given a treatment that healed your cancer or salvation that healed your soul?

My problem is, over time I slack. I am Weary by Wednesday, because I forget how dead I was and how alive He made me. In my state of lukewarmness, I’m not sharing with others what Jesus has done for me.

How about you? Are you taking a stand that makes you a threat to be dealt with? I hope so. I’ll be praying for you.