Tags

, ,

image

If you drop by my house and find it all clean and tidy, it’s most likely because I’m stressed, angry or feeling out of control.

Possibly due to a fight with the hubby, and I’m convinced I’m right.

Maybe a bill we can’t afford came, and I’ve forgotten how to trust.

Or my dog is really sick and the vet can’t figure out why, and it makes no sense to me.

Sometimes life just seems out of control and the only thing I feel I have control of, is cleaning things around me.

The stove, floors and potties.

Seems ridiculous really…fix your problems with cleaning, eh…come on over to my house, you’re thinking, you can work out your issues!

Here’s the thing with me, when I’m stressed, I can’t sit still. When my hands are busy with monotonous work, I think better. I channel a bit of anger and frustration down the mop handle. I can humble myself and begin to pray and see what I am doing wrong and should be doing right.

Cleaning on the outside is only part of the picture, however. If I don’t want to be Weary by Wednesday, I need to clean the inside too. I need to take responsibility and confess my sins, ask for forgiveness and move past unreliable emotions.

It’s not enough to clean the outside, I am just like the Pharisees when I stop there.

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You clean the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean. Matthew 23:25-26

Father, I lift up those like me, who are struggling with anger and trust, I ask that you give them wisdom and grace today to clean the inside of the cup and fill it up with your peace.

Thanks for sharing Wednesday with me.

