Tags

, ,

Have you noticed God’s math isn’t like our math? I think in terms of what is fair or equal.

FOR ME!

God, on the other hand, thinks and acts in terms of fair or equal FOR ALL. He loves everyone and He wants what is right and just for everyone. He wants everyone to have the opportunity to spend eternity with Him in Heaven.

In the end, our destination, eternity, probably won’t look like my limited mind imagines. This is why I often find myself Weary by Wednesday. I’m not doing my math right.

Jesus told the parable about the workers in the vineyard; and how the workers, those who worked all day, felt about the owner’s math skills. Even though they agreed to work the whole day for one denarius, they were not happy when those hired with only an hour left in the day, received the same pay as them.

Christian, (firmly talking to myself) what is the goal here?

Not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. (2 Peter 3:9) At the end of the day, does it really matter if they get the same as me? Of course it does…I should want them to, and when I don’t, I need a heart check-up.

My Father-in-law prayed to receive salvation, several days before cancer over-took him. He had been fairly adamant against the idea most of his life, convincing himself he could manage quite well on his own. But in the end, as his life moved closer to eternal, he knew what he really needed.

How should I feel about his death bed conversion? Should I be concerned about fair or equal? I tend to get focused on all the wrong stuff. What I really need to focus on, is thankfulness, and those who do not yet have eternal salvation, young, middle life or soon to pass.

Everyone needs the opportunity to hear, so they can choose.

“The workers who were hired about five in the afternoon came and each received a denarius. So when those came who were hired first, they expected to receive more. But each one of them also received a denarius. When they received it, they began to grumble against the landowner. ‘These who were hired last worked only one hour,’ they said, ‘and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the work and the heat of the day.’ “But he answered one of them, ‘I am not being unfair to you, friend. Didn’t you agree to work for a denarius? Take your pay and go. I want to give the one who was hired last the same as I gave you. Don’t I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?’ Matthew 20:9-15

How about you? What is the focus of your attention today? Getting yours or getting others? And, is the approach, loving, kind, and palatable, or something no one would be interested in?

If you don’t know for sure where you will spend eternity, please make sure. I would love to talk about it, pray with you, or answer any questions.

As always, thank you for sharing your Wednesday with me, I’m praying for us both!

